Skip to content

Zine review: Panacea For Loneliness #2

November 6, 2011

Panacea for Loneliness #2A. Panda, $0.50, PO Box 392 Newtown NSW 2042 / site here

[Image pilfered from their Etsy site.]

I quite enjoyed Panacea for Loneliness #2, as it discusses different movies (and specific moments from them) with enthusiasm and unabashed emotional attachment. It explains why the films mentioned mean something to the person talking about them, PLUS it makes them sound exciting, which is usually the best thing you can do in these sort of list zines. For instance, when I hear that the film Reform School Girls has “one of the final scenes where [the main character] kicks through a bus windscreen (whilst it’s both moving and on fire) and rides it, once again in only her underwear, into a signal tower”, I think, yeah, I guess that movie does sound pretty good.

There’s one part that slightly rankles with me though. I am not really much of a film person, in that I’ve watched barely any of the films that everybody goes on about, and I thought that this zine is one that could be enjoyed just as much by someone who has seen all these movies as someone who hasn’t. You know, it could either be a collection of recommendations for good stuff to watch, or a zine to have fun recalling that time when that girl in that film kicked that moving bus on fire. But there’s one title mentioned here that I’ve actually seen, Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and at the start of the explanation as to why it’s been chosen, it says this: “I know a lot of people don’t like this film and especially don’t like jim carrey in it and chances are you don’t either.”

Er…WRONG! I love that film! I think Jim Carrey’s great in it! How am I supposed to respond to that then? I know that the writer then goes on to praise the film and Carrey’s performance, but still, there’s a kind of tone here that is wary of looking uncool by choosing a mainstream film, and not even a dumb trashy one at that. It kind of suggests that the zine should probably be for people who are film snobs, or at least people who feel that there are ‘guilty pleasures’ in cinema, and that’s an attitude I don’t agree with.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

